Firman elected mayor of Temora

RICK Firman was elected the new mayor of Temora Shire yesterday afternoon, with Graham Sinclair voted in as his deputy.

Cr Firman received a staggering 35 per cent of first preference votes when Temora went to the polls two weeks ago, nearly three times more than former mayor Peter Speirs who received the second-most amount of votes.

But that counts for nothing when it comes time for councillors to vote for the mayoral robes, but Cr Firman enjoyed similar popularity from the other councillors.

Temora is just one of many councils in the region which have held their mayoral elections this week.

In other mayoral election results from around the region, Heather Wilton was elected as Greater Hume Shire's new mayor on Wednesday.

Ms Wilton, who has previously served as the mayor of Berrigan Shire and Holbrook Shire prior to its amalgamation with Culcairn to form Greater Hume, said she was excited about the challenge that lay ahead.

"We've got problems similar to most other councils roads, rates and rubbish," she said.

"I don't think constituents want higher rates but they want more services so that's going to be the main challenge."

In Harden Shire, Chris Manchester was re-elected as mayor unopposed.

Cr Manchester has served as mayor of Harden for 15 years and has now been on council for more than 25 years.

Other mayoral elections were held this week including Coolamon, where John Seymour will take over as mayor from the retired Robert Menzies and in Carrathool where both the incumbent mayor and deputy mayor, Peter Laird and Darryl Jardine, were re-elected.

Young also held its mayoral election on Wednesday, with current mayor Stuart Freudenstein re-elected while Ben Cooper will take over as deputy mayor from the retired John Drum.

Rick Firman

Rick Firman


Discuss "Firman elected mayor of Temora"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.