Eight regional branches to be shut down by two major banks

National Australia Bank’s decision to pull out of Ardlethan will leave the Coolamon Shire without a single branch of any of the ‘big four” banks.

The closure of the Ardlethan NAB branch is just one in a wave of closures to hit country NSW.

 Branches in Lockhart, Culcairn, Grenfell, and Barham will also be shut by NAB, while the ANZ is closing its doors at Temora, Forbes and Narromine.

The banks say customers’ increasing use of online banking has seen the number of people using branches diminish.

Coolamon Mayor John Seymour said Coolamon had a Beyond Bank branch and a Wagga Mutual Credit Union one.

“The community is a bit shellshocked,” Cr Seymour said.

“It does annoy you that they are closing down all these small rural branches and then they come out and announce record profits.”